Skip to main content

2023 Student Sticker Contest Winners Announced

Winning designs in the 2023 Student Sticker Contest

This week, the Arapahoe County Clerk and Recorder’s Office announced three winners in the Elections Division’s Student Sticker Contests:

  • Liam Haden, a fourth grader at Aurora Academy Charter School won in the “Future Voter” category,
  • Carter Ruis, a sixth grader at Falcon Creek Elementary in Cherry Creek School District won in the ”I Voted” category for middle school students, and
  • Grant Barnes, a senior at Regis Jesuit High School, won in the “I Voted” category for high school students.

Clerk and Recorder Joan Lopez thanked the students who submitted designs, as well as the parents, teachers, and municipal and school district personnel who encouraged students to enter the contest. The Office received more than 80 different entries from private and public schools across the County.

“These students captured what people love about Colorado and Arapahoe County, and the stickers depict the hopeful, energizing spirit of our elections process,” Lopez said about the winning designs.

Appropriately, winners were selected in a democratic process: All employees in the County Elections Division voted for their favorite entries via a secret ballot, with each entry’s identifying information removed. There were three categories in the contest. Elementary students competed to design the “Future Voter” sticker, and middle and high school students competed for the winning “I Voted” design in two grade-specific groups.

“Future Voter” stickers will be handed out to children at County events and voter service and polling centers. Each of the “I Voted” designs will be included alternately in mail ballot packets sent to voters for the Coordinated Election on November 7, and in all three 2024 elections.


Watch Aurora TV's story on the contest winners here.

Watch Fox 31's piece on the winning entries at this link.